Slide background

OpenSeaNav - AIS Multifunction Display

Abstract

OpenSeaNav is a concept development for an AIS multifunction display, which supports the digital chart OpenSeaMap. The project was commissioned by FT-TEC GmbH and implemented in cooperation with the company csoft - Web and IT Solutions.

The multifunction display is primarily used for navigation in the maritime area. It allows connection to conventional AIS radio receivers, so that vessels and their specific data and information can be displayed on the chart. This allows to make informed navigational decisions, should thus avoid collisions and increase safety on sea.

NMEA enabled instruments can be connected to OpenSeaNav using appropriate interfaces. This enables users to visualize data of external GPS sensors, depth sounder, radar or fishfinder.

The software of OpenSeaNav features an open apps interface. The functionality can be extended directly through the community, which allows implementation of individual solutions that do not limit the scope of the multifunction displays for navigation only.

What is AIS?

AIS stands for Automatic Identification System and is a communication system that operates over registered channels within the maritime mobile VHF band as a self-organizing time slot method (161.975 MHz and 162.025 MHz). It is based upon an open, unencrypted protocol with which information is transmitted and received autonomously with no interaction from ship or operating personnel. In addition to this autonomous mode, capabilities are also provided for the transmission of short, safety-related messages when there is human interaction.

The information generated autonomously and transmitted to other ships or to shore via a broadcast is dynamic information such as position, speed and course, but also static and cruise-related information such as draft and ship type. Transmission is at regular intervals, whereby the interval depends on the speed and any course changes of the particular ship. This information is processed by the receiver and can be visualized on a display, generally an Electronic Chart Display and Information System (ECDIS). Current position information is referenced geographically with the respective ship identification of the AIS stations received and displayed on a digital map.

For further information see www.allaboutais.com.

See also USB AIS receiver, AIS-SART, Wi-Fi AIS receiver/multiplexer.

Presentation of the Prototype

The video (German) was created for the competition "Zukunftspreis Kommunikation".

Activities/Services

  • design, schematic and layout of the assembly
  • porting of the embedded linux kernel
  • creation of the file system
  • implementation of various linux device drivers
  • EMC testing
  • porting of the U-Boot bootloader
  • implementation of a failsafe software update algorithm

Picture Gallery

Slide background

OpenSeaNav - AIS Multifunktionsdisplay

Kurzbeschreibung

OpenSeaNav ist eine Konzeptentwicklung für ein AIS Multifunktionsdisplay, welches die digitale Seekarte OpenSeaMap unterstützt. Das Projekt wurde von FT-TEC GmbH in Auftrag gegeben und in Zusammenarbeit mit der Firma csoft - Web und IT Lösungen umgesetzt.

Das Multifunktionsdisplay wird primär zur Navigation im Schiffsbereich eingesetzt. Es ermöglicht herkömmliche AIS Funkempfänger anzuschließen, sodass Schiffe und deren spezifischen Daten und Informationen auf der Seekarte dargestellt werden können. Dies erlaubt fundierte Navigationsentscheidungen zu treffen, soll somit Kollisionen vermeiden und die Sicherheit auf Seewegen erhöhen.

Über entsprechende Schnittstellen lässt sich jedes NMEA fähige Endgerät mit OpenSeaNav verbinden, wodurch sich auch Daten unter anderem von externen GPS Sensoren, Echolot, Radar oder Fischfinder visualisieren lassen.

Die Software des OpenSeaNav hat eine offene Apps-Schnittstelle. Die Funktionalität kann direkt über die Community erweitert werden, wodurch sich auch sehr individuelle Lösungen umsetzen lassen und sich der Anwendungsbereich des Multifunktionsdisplays nicht nur auf die Navigation beschränkt.

Was ist AIS?

AIS steht für Automatic Identification System und ist ein Kommunikationssystem, das über registrierte Kanäle im maritimen mobilen VHF Band als selbstorganisierendes Zeitschlitzverfahren operiert (161,975 MHz und 162,025 MHz). Es basiert auf einem offenen, unverschlüsselten Protokoll, über das Daten autonom gesendet und empfangen werden, ohne Interaktion von Schiffs- oder Operatorpersonal. Neben diesem autonomen Modus sind Möglichkeiten vorgesehen, dass kurze, sicherheitsrelevante Nachrichten auch auf menschliche Interaktion hin gesendet werden können.

Die Daten, die autonom generiert und via Broadcast an andere Schiffe oder zum Festland übertragen werden, sind dynamische Daten wie Position, Geschwindigkeit und Kurs, aber auch statische und fahrtbezogene Daten wie Tiefgang oder Schiffstyp. Die Übertragung erfolgt in regelmäßigen Abständen, wobei das Sendeintervall von der Geschwindigkeit und einer etwaigen Kursänderung des jeweiligen Schiffes abhängt. Diese Daten werden vom Empfänger verarbeitet und können auf einem Display, im Allgemeinen ein Electronic Chart Display and Information System (ECDIS), visualisiert werden. Aktuelle Positionsdaten werden dabei mit der jeweiligen Schiffsidentifikation der empfangenen AIS Stationen geografisch referenziert und auf einer digitalen Karte abgebildet.

Weiterführende Informationen unter www.allaboutais.com.

Siehe dazu auch USB AIS Receiver, AIS-SART, AIS Empfänger/Multiplexer.

Vorstellung des Prototyps

Das Video wurde für den Wettbewerb "Zukunftspreis Kommunikation" erstellt.

Tätigkeiten/Leistungen

  • Design, Stromlaufplan und Layout der Baugruppe
  • Portierung des Embedded Linux Kernels
  • Erstellung des Dateisystems
  • Implementierung von Linux-Treibern
  • EMV und Normen relevante Tests
  • Portierung des U-Boot Bootloaders
  • Implementierung eines Failsafe Softwareupdatealgorithmus

Bildergallerie